Suzie-ism: Ponderings of a 5 year old -Skin of my teeth

Why does we say  I escaped by the skin of my teeth??

Ummm.. my teeth has no skins on dem.

It made me ponder. Where does it comes from?

What does it mean?

Do my teeth have skin?

Is this a really silly phrase or what?

So I googled the phrase “skin of my teeth”.

Originally the phrase is attributed to Job in the Bible.

Job 19:20 “I am nothing but skin and bones; I have escaped with only the skin of my teeth.”

Some argue translating it as.. I have escaped by the skin of my teeth..

Either way our teeth have no skin on them.

It really means escaped by the narrowest margin.

Another possible meaning in this idiom is if all fighting appendages are bond or missing one still has their teeth left to fight with. So trying to escape by narrowest margin with the smallest weapon attached.

This all leads me to concludes…. (As I imagine a rat chewing through a rope to escape by ‘skin of its teeth’) it’s a pretty funny saying. So I’m blogging it as a suzie-ism.

Leave a Reply

